Creamy mushroom risotto

Creamy mushroom risotto

Sometimes you just need to indulge. I developed this recipe for my sisters. I have 3 beautiful, amazing sisters who are my bestest friends and are a grounding force in my life. They are also mothers to young children who hardly get a spare minute. We had lunch at my house for one of their birthdays so I thought I would spoil them, they LOVE my creamy mushroom sauce so I thought I would mix it up and create a risotto out of the base recipe. I honestly believe life is all about balance and just like extreme eating is bad, extreme dieting/restriction is horrible.

There’s a bit of a spin on the traditional risotto by adding brie cheese. It adds that extra bit of luxury. If you are having people over, I recommend you prep the risotto beforehand and add the cream/mushrooms at the last minute.

Ingredients (serves 4) risotto

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 100g unsalted butter
  • 2 leeks, finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped rosemary leaves, plus extra leaves to serve
  • 1 1/3 cups Arborio Risotto Rice
  • 4 cups vegetable stock, heated
  • 100ml pure (thin) cream
  • 300g brown mushrooms, sliced
  • 150g brie, torn

To prep:

  1. Place oil and half the butter in a pan over medium-low heat. Cook leek, garlic and half the rosemary, stirring, for 6-8 minutes until soft.
  2. Add rice, stirring to coat grains. Stir in stock, a ladleful at a time, allowing each to be absorbed before adding the next. Continue to cook, stirring constantly, for 30 minutes or until al dente (you may not need all the stock). Stop here if you are serving guests later.
  3. Stir in cream and cook for a further 2-3 minutes until warmed through.
  4. Melt remaining butter in a pan over high heat. Cook mushrooms and remaining rosemary for 6-8 minutes or until mushrooms are golden. Season.
  5. Serve risotto immediately, topped with mushrooms, brie and rosemary leaves.

Leave a Reply

